Did y’all See this Yoplait Ad That got Pulled?

Disclaimer: This as was pulled because it was believed that it could inspire or encourage detrimental behavior to those who have a propensity towards an eating disorder:

I think I first came across it on the Huffington Post, but Chloe on Feministing also wrote about this debacle.  Yoplait pulled the ad after comments from the National Eating Disorder Association.  According to the NEDA press release, Lynn Grefe, President and CEO of NEDA said that the language of the ad “was seriously problematic for those affected by eating disorders and anyone who may have a predisposition towards developing one.”

I think yoplait did the right thing by pulling the ad – but scarier for me was watching the ad and realizing that I’ve had these conversations with myself – I’ve even had them out loud with my friends – feminist friends. Maintaining a positive body image in a western culture obsessed with thinness is complicated – even when we are “enlightened” by feminist thinking.  What are the steps we can take to avoid this obsession in future generations of women?

I was wondering if this ad triggered the same kind of thinking for any of you? I’m going to think some more and get back to you on this in a couple of days – but still any thoughts?

3 responses

  1. Oh my gosh. I have that conversation all the time. I never even thought of the ramifications of the ad. I saw that one night and thought: “Yoplait’s read my mind. They sure have the pulse of American women”.

    But yes, now that I read your post. It’s really sad.

    • I know, right. I literally have stood in front of the fridge doing this – that’s the scary thing here. This is more true than not – and I think of myself as body positive – what does that say?

Leave a Reply

