Breast Feeding Truck…

An art student in Pittsburg is creating a mommy/breastfeeding-positive work of Feminist art: The Milk Truck.  You can also read a article on cnet about this project. This article also happens to mention a really neat website called kickstarter:

Kickstarter is the largest funding platform for creative projects in the world. Every month, tens of thousands of amazing people pledge millions of dollars to projects from the worlds of music, film, art, technology, design, food, publishing and other creative fields.

Check it out. What do you think?

2 responses

  1. I have mixed feelings about this. I think that the intention behind it is a good one, and public support for breastfeeding is hard to come by. And it calls attention to the fact that so many moms that work outside the home are not supported in their workplaces if they choose to nurse and/or pump. (My own experiences at my university confirm this. As a grad student who brought my nursing baby to campus with me relatively often when finishing my dissertation, I was always put off by my choices to nurse in public – a fine choice for many but uncomfortable for me, especially once my little one became wiggly and distractable; in the car; or in the bathroom – ick. Pumping on campus out of the question since grad students in my department don’t have office space, and don’t get me started on the lack of changing tables in ANY of the campus restrooms.) Clearly there is a need for comfortable, clean spaces for moms to nurse and pump, particularly for moms who don’t want to nurse publicly. At the same time, doesn’t it also justify the position that women should be free to breastfeed….as long as she’s hidden away?

  2. Admittedly, I thought the same thing. It does feel like hiding, but like you said – it’s very loud hiding! Perhaps pointing out that there are no other options for women like yourself who want to breastfeed in a non-public place. There was a whole thing about this at FAU this year as well – I’m not sure of the end result but I will have to check that out.

Leave a Reply

