PSA: A Reminder to Those Who Have Gained Weight

A worthwhile fat-positive read.

Rose Water Magazine

I know. Your body looks different. It has changed, and along with your life, your jeans fit a little more snugly than you had anticipated. Maybe more than you like. Maybe you hate it.

You were a size X for such a long time, you’d grown accustomed to the shape your skin had taken, and suddenly, you are 10, 20, 50 pounds heavier. Fatter. Sometimes, you might feel discomfort at the thought. Sometimes, it is really fucking hard to deal with. It’s okay to feel that way- I get it. I’ve been there, along with almost every person I know. But just in case you need a little extra push out of that rough spot, (because sometimes “rough” doesn’t cut it, sometimes it just feels impossible) this is for you.

I moved to California at my lowest weight. I reached my highest weight one year later. I was finally in a relationship…

View original post 690 more words

4 responses

  1. Yea! Lots of new posts from you! I always love reading your stuff.
    I felt really bad today about something that I said to my oldest. She is ten. I make eggs or toast or cereal for breakfast. When I came down this AM after a shower she had 7 (seven) bags of Doritos next to her. OK, they were the single serving bags but WTF? i had planned one for each day not SEVEN for breakfast! I snapped: Do you want to be fat? Do you want to be fat and huge and alone? What are you DOING?
    (not winning mum of the year award here)
    She was understandably crushed and horrified. I can hardly get this kid to eat foods much less eat breakfast. I have to make sure she has enough nutrients because she is a picky eater.
    But what I did, in effect, was call my kid fat and ugly and useless. Then i spend all day thinking…this is me. I bought the foods. I am not a size 8. She sees me and thinks this is ok.
    She wants a bike for x-mas. I guess that is the best thing that I could do at this point.

Leave a Reply

